Big Bad Wolves [REVIEW]

big_bad_wolves_ver5_xlg It might look like I’m enjoying this, and maybe I am in a way… but believe me, I’d be happy to stop breaking your fingers. Now would you please start talking! – Micki

Going into Big Bad Wolves, I had some pretty steep expectations. I mean it was lauded by Quentin Tarantino as the best movie of the year. I read nothing but rave reviews. As a result I was a little let down. That is to say, Big Bad Wolves is a pretty great movie. I enjoyed it thoroughly. It just didn’t scare me. And it didn’t shock me. It almost felt like a less bleak version of the film Prisoners.

The premise is pretty simple; a series of grisly murders wherein young girls are tortured, raped and decapitated has shaken a town in Israel. As the police investigate the murder, one of the victim’s fathers takes matters into his own hands. Motivated by blind grief and animal rage he will stop at nothing to get answers. The film delivers some flashes of gore and some very tense scenes but it’s the few well placed twists which really make the movie. I won’t spoil it for you but I will say that they feel organic to the plot. With just a light sprinkling of humor to balance things out, Bad Wolves is definitely one of the better thrillers of late. Definitely worth checking out, it is currently on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

