Dark Skies [REVIEW]

dark-skies-poster

They are a fact of life. Like death and taxes. – Edwin Pollard

When people ask me what scares me in horror, my usual go to is usually home invasion. But after watching Dark Skies I am reminded that the other type of movie that scares the fuck out of me is alien abduction. The X-Files gave me nightmares when I was little. I nearly pissed myself during The Fourth Kind (yeah it was kind of terrible but it still scared me hard.).And while I wasn’t emotionally scared by it, the scene in The Forgotten where the woman tells Julianne Moore she believes her son was abducted is still one of the most shocking scenes I have seen.

I don’t want to give much away about Dark Skies. The film got kind of shitty reviews, and currently holes a 31% on Rotten Tomatoes. Bloody Disgusting also gave it a shitty review. But as someone who finds the subject matter terrifying I have to say I enjoyed it’s very slow burn. There are cliche moments, but I have to say I didn’t mind. All in all, reading reviews I am surprised just how hard everyone has been on it. It isn’t perfect, but it was nice to see an abduction movie that wasn’t a lot of lights in the skies, flashes of probes on space ships. I say check it out, you might be disappointed. Or you could end up like me as I finish writing this. Watching cartoons to try and avoid nightmares while desperately wishing my cats offered better protection from aliens. I look forward to more films from Blumhouse Productions the company that has brought us Sinister, Paranormal Activity, and the upcoming The Purge and Insidious: Chapter 2. Look for it on DVD and BluRay on May 28th.

Leave a Reply

